Stabat Mater

Giovanni Battista Pergolesi 

A “hit” and an Italian baroque legend celebrated by Julien Chauvin and a duo of seasoned performers of this demanding repertoire.

Katherine Watson © Hugo Bernard - Jakub Józef Orliński © Ksawery Zylber
Julien Chauvin © Franck Juery


Katherine Watson soprano
Jakub Józef Orliński countertenor

Julien Chauvin violin and direction
Le Concert de la Loge

First part
Concerto grosso op.6 n°6, Larghetto e affectuoso
Salve Regina 
Telemann Suite in B Flat major for orchestra 
Terradellas « Donec ponam inimicos tuos » excerpt from Dixit Dominus 
Fago « Tam non splendet sol creatus » 
Hasse « Mea tormenta, properate! »

Approximate running time
1st part: 35mn - Intermission: 20mn - 2nd part: 45mn

Although the Stabat Mater is authentic, unlike many of the apocryphal works attributed posthumously to Pergolesi, we have very little information about its genesis. This poignant work by a musician who died tragically at the age of twenty-six, gave rise to a legend similar to that surrounding Mozart’s Requiem. Tradition has it that the composer finished it on his death bed. The truth seems to be more prosaic according to many modern musicologists and historians. Be that as it may, the reputation of this work, which was extensively performed and published in the 18th century, enhanced the author’s posthumous reputation. With its staggeringly expressive arias and duets for soloists, this work belongs to the small group of masterpieces of the early repertoire.

Production Les Grandes Voix 

Cookies and plotters improve your experience on the website.
By continuing your navigation, you accept their use. For more information click here