City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla  direction
Yuja Wang  piano

A concert brimming with feminine appeal and youthful energy with conductor Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla and young Chinese prodigy Yuja Wang.

Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla - DR, Yuja Wang © Norbert Kniat


Ravel Le Tombeau de Couperin
Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 5 op. 55
Brahms Symphony No. 2 op. 73

Approximate running time
1st part: 45mn - Intermission: 20mn - 2nd part: 50mn

A concert in which women reign supreme with the young Lithuanian conductor, who at barely 29 years of age has taken up the post of musical director with the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, following in the distinguished footsteps of such greats as Simon Rattle and Andris Nelsons, and Chinese piano virtuoso Yuja Wang. Do not be fooled by Yuja Wang’s diminutive physique and her fondness for sheath dresses and high heels - she is a virtuoso with an extremely accomplished technique and a surfeit of energy. As well as sharing a common homeland and teacher (US pianist Gary Graffman), Yuja Wang and Lang Lang are cast in the same mould, demonstrating staggering technical ability and approaching the piano with the same gusto. Yuja Wang can turn her hand to anything - concerts, recitals, chamber music (delighting Parisian audiences in recent seasons) - and she brings the same verve to each appearance at the keyboard. For this evening, she has selected the most popular of Prokofiev’s five piano concertos, in which the musician blends lyricism with harsh modernity.

Production Théâtre des Champs-Elysées


Yuja Wang Prokofiev


Six Stories about Yuja Wang

Debut at the TCE Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla

Cookies and plotters improve your experience on the website.
By continuing your navigation, you accept their use. For more information click here