Orchestre Philharmonique de Monte-Carlo

Kazuki Yamada  direction

The Monte Carlo orchestra and Kazuki Yamada join forces for a programme paying tribute to the Ballets Russes.

Kazuki Yamada © Yoshinori Tsuru



Rimsky-Korsakov Scheherazade, symphonic poem  op. 35
Debussy Jeux
Stravinsky The Firebird (1919 version)

Approximate running time
1st part: 45mn - Intermission: 20mn - 2nd part: 50mn

The Orchestre Philharmonique de Monte Carlo (as it has been known since the 1980s) has been playing in the major league for many years. Founded in 1856, it has premiered a number of works from the very early 20th century onwards. Throughout its history, it has fused tradition and modernity. The young Japanese conductor Kazuki Yamada, who came to prominence at the 2009 Concours de Besançon, has been its musical director since the 2016—17 season, breathing fresh life into the orchestra. His fluid gestures, lyricism and taste for French repertoire have been acclaimed in a manner not dissimilar to one of his illustrious fellow countrymen. This concert programme commemorates the Ballets Russes with two signature ballets, Jeux and The Firebird, preceded by Scheherazade by Rimsky-Korsakov, Stravinsky’s teacher.

Productions Internationales Albert Sarfati

Cookies and plotters improve your experience on the website.
By continuing your navigation, you accept their use. For more information click here