Philharmonia Orchestra

Paavo Järvi  direction
Vadim Repin  violin

Violinist Vadim Repin performs Sibelius’s concerto under the baton of Paavo Järvi with consummate finesse.

PaavoJärvi © Kaupo Kikkas, Vadim Repin © Kasskara


Beethoven Egmont, overture op. 84
Sibelius Violin Concerto op. 47
Tchaïkovski Symphony No. 6 op. 74 « Pathétique »

Approximate running time
1st part: 40mn - Intermission: 20mn - 2nd part: 45mn

Here on the Avenue Montaigne, we admire Paavo Järvi for his elegance and his keen sense of phrasing. For this latest visit with the Philharmonia Orchestra, he has selected three pieces which showcase his talent. We begin with Beethoven and Goethe in tandem for one of the musician’s densest overtures, followed by Sibelius’s lone concerto for violin, in which majestic orchestral passages combine with a virtuosic instrumentals. He rounds of with Tchaikovsky’s “Pathétique”, which demands that every desk of the orchestra in turn deliver its full power.

Production Théâtre des Champs-Elysées

Cookies and plotters improve your experience on the website.
By continuing your navigation, you accept their use. For more information click here