St-Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra  

Vassily Sinaisky  direction
Boris Berezovsky  piano

Vassily Sinaisky and the St Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra with Boris Berezovsky are sure to deliver Tchaikovsky in the original Russian.

Vassili Sinaisky © Jesper Lindgren, Boris Berezovsky © Yuri Bogomaz


For health reasons, Yuri Temirkanov will not be able to conduct this concert. In agreement with Boris Berezovsky, he chose to be replaced by the Russian conductor Vassily Sinaisky.
Thank you for your understanding

Tchaïkovski Piano Concerto No. 1 op. 23
Symphony No. 6 op. 74 « Pathétique »

Approximate running time
1st part: 35mn - Intermission: 20mn - 2nd part: 50mn

For their traditional visit, the St Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra continue the journey through the heart of Tchaikovsky’s final symphonic trilogy, which they began last season. Following the composer’s Symphonies No. 4 and 5, performed in November 2017, we reach our final destination: the hugely famous Symphony No. 6, or “Pathétique”, in which his exploration of man’s confrontation with his destiny reaches its climax. But before this headlong dive into orchestral majesty, we will hear the no less well-known Piano Concerto No. 1, whose evocative powers and emotional richness are on a par with those of its symphonic elder sibling.

Production Théâtre des Champs-Elysées
Café Pouchkine is associated with this concert by offering you treats

Cookies and plotters improve your experience on the website.
By continuing your navigation, you accept their use. For more information click here