Lucas Debargue piano

Already one of France’s most promising young pianists, Lucas Debargue works wonders at every performance.

Lucas Debargue © Yann Orhan


Bach Toccata in C Minor
Beethoven Sonata No. 32 op. 111
Chopin Polonaise op. 53, Scherzo No. 2, Nocturne op. 48 No. 1, Barcarolle op. 60,
Scherzo No. 1 op. 20

Approximate running time
1st part: 35mn - Intermission: 20mn - 2nd part: 45mn

It takes nerves of steel to take up the formidable challenge of Opus 111 at such a tender age. Many of his older predecessors have come unstuck with it. We can rest assured that in Debargue’s hands, Beethoven’s final sonata will have a surprisingly modern flavour. He is certainly one of the small band of pianists of the younger generation to avoid being distracted by the trivial side of life and is enough of an artist to find even the most low-key performance a source of tension rather than calm. Trained by Rena Shereshevskaya, who is very attached to symbolism and counterpoint, Debargue gives lie to the common and erroneous adage that only highly technically proficient players can make their way to the top. We hazard a guess that he will have spent many hours fine-tuning his Bach and that his Chopin will be cast in a different and particularly delightful mould.

Jeanine Roze Production

Cookies and plotters improve your experience on the website.
By continuing your navigation, you accept their use. For more information click here