Magdalena Kožená  mezzo soprano

Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment
Giovanni Antonini  direction

Czech mezzo Magdalena Kožená revisits her first loves with Gluck and Mozart.

Magdalena Kozena © Oleg Rostovtsev


Mozart Symphony No. 40 K. 550 (1st movement)
Gluck  « O del mio dolce ardor  », aria from Paride e Elena
Dance of the Furies from  Orfeo ed Euridice
Mozart « Giunse alfin il momento », « Al desio di chi t’adora », arias from Le Nozze di Figaro
Symphony No. 40 (2nd movement)
Haydn  « Berenice, che fai? », Scena di Berenice
Mozart Symphony No. 40 (3rd movement)
Gluck « Di questa cetra », aria from Il Parnaso confuso
Mozart « Den perquesto istante », aria from La Clemenza di Tito
Symphony No. 40 (4th movement)
« Parto, parto », aria from La Clemenza di Tito

Approximate running time
1st part: 40mn - Intermission: 20mn - 2nd part: 40mn

This Czech mezzo soprano can sing everything from Monteverdi to the most contemporary repertoire, not forgetting Gluck, Bizet, Mahler and even Debussy. She recently performed the role of Monteverdi’s tender and regal Penelope and then took us on a journey to the heart of Spain to sample some Baroque arias, and flamenco palos and compas. This season, she is back with a new recital devoted to Gluck and Mozart (whom she has neglected slightly in recent times). Her rich, warm musicality and close attention to the text should find a suitably fulfilling vehicle with these two masters.

Production Théâtre des Champs-Elysées

Cookies and plotters improve your experience on the website.
By continuing your navigation, you accept their use. For more information click here